2015: The Final Look Back

How do you sum up a whole year and not make it sound like a Bragging List? Well, if you’re me, you do it very carefully and change the names to protect the innocent. 😉

The seeds of 2015 were actually sown in late 2014 when I approached Amazon with three orphaned novelettes needing a home. I stumbled, fumbled, made some mistakes and then eventually found my footing with the whole self-publishing thing. This is by no means a comprehensive history.

January 2015 started with me pulling Corona, The Three Safeties, and Vessel from publication, retooling them and giving them nicer covers and then re-releasing them in their final form as they are today.

February: The rewrite for Parallax resumed, one that took me through to September while juggling the Day Job and various other personal issues while I sorted out how I was going to manage the business side of my writing endeavors.

March: Turned 48, not a big deal there. More work on Parallax while fending off well-intentioned friends and some family who were trying to get me to give up the “little writing thing” and use my abilities to get a “real job”. Lots of head shaking that month.

April: Started focusing more on the blog at this point. Hey, writing is writing and it allowed me to take breaks from the Parallax Rewrite.

May: Not much happened this month, except I remember working at the Day Job more than what my posted schedule would have indicated at the time. Isn’t that the way of things?

June: More rewriting, more experimenting with marketing and improving book sales. Not my cup of tea but what can you do?

July: This was the month where the blog started to really pick up because I began posting 4-5 articles a day. What an improvement.

August: More articles about Corona, The Three Safeties, and Vessel this month plus more general articles about you know…stuff…

September: Parallax is finally finished and released. I was very proud to get that done and released. Turned my attention to Lights and Shadows in hopes of getting it done by the end of December.

October-December: More work on Lights and Shadows, but when Real Life interrupts, you have to pay it some attention. Figured out what my motto for 2016 while preparing goals for the new year and getting the practicals in order. Decided that this New Years’ there would be no resolution.

Well, that’s it. 2015 in a quick summary. Obviously, the details are better laid out in earlier blog articles, but that does the job for my purposes. Have a safe New Year Celebration and I will see you guys on the other side bright and early on January 1. 🙂