Considering Amazon Marketing Services

Note: Remember that you read it here first…hehe.

I’ve made no secret of the fact that while I consider myself a good writer and storyteller, I don’t have a lot of enthusiasm for promoting my books. I suppose it’s the last of my naivety to think that merely putting out a story with a snazzy cover would be enough.

Apparently, I’ve learned that the reality of putting out my stuff with little to no support isn’t a good idea. We live and learn by doing.

I publish through Amazon and Createspace and lately Amazon Marketing Services has been sending me advertisement emails talking up their ad campaign opportunities. I’ve known about then for a while but have been resistant to invest the necessary funds for fairly obvious reasons. However, I’ve been reconsidering that option because even as stubborn as I am known to be, I can’t deny the logic that even though I personally don’t like to promote my stuff, paying someone else to do it for me isn’t a bad way to go.

Amazon Marketing Services generally charges around $100 for a 30-day ad cycle, which wouldn’t break my finances, but as I consider this option as a test case, I’m stymied by one simple yet thorny question:

WHICH BOOK DO I USE?

Currently, I have three novelettes and one full-length novel out there. Each would be well served to be the first but I’m having trouble deciding which to choose for my experiment. I won’t say that I have much to lose here (maybe $100) but the potential for growth makes any risk acceptable.

Pro-Conning this is becoming a pain in the backside but I want to choose my next steps very carefully. Once committed, there’s not much point in turning back.

Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Considering Amazon Marketing Services

  1. I’ve had good results with my latest ad campaign through AMS. I’ve been running continuously since April and consistently break even or come out a little ahead. My advice (after having several poorly performing campaigns previously) is to be conservative on your CPC bid price (I’ve ranged between 0.10 and 0.25 this time) and then be patient because the daily impressions will be low (but this strategy has given me the balance needed to perform well). And choose your product targets carefully since popular titles will inevitably necessitate a high CPC and unknown titles come with low CPC but may never get views. Balance is important. ^_- Also, if you’re unhappy with how it’s going, you can always terminate the campaign early. So you don’t have to lose the $100 minimum budget if you’re unhappy early on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Being patient on this subject is easy enough for me because I’ve kept my expectations low. You state a good case with the CPC and I’m definitely taking this advice to heart. I’m almost ready to commit to the first campaign but choosing the first book to promote has proven more thorny to decide on than I expected.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, admittedly I had it easy when it comes to deciding which book to choose. XD There are many variables to consider, but from a financial perspective, Parallax would be a good choice. Not every click will yield a sale, so the lower price points of the novellas would mean you have to get a much higher ratio of clicks to sales in order to break even on the ad cost. Parallax would need a lower ratio so it would be more forgiving, so to speak. On the other side of the coin, the lower price points of the novellas are more appealing for those who are trying your works for the first time. I’ll be interested to hear what you decide and how things go! It’s a continual learning experience for everyone. ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

  2. After some consideration, I’ve decided to go with Parallax for my first paid ad campaign. Hopefully, I did everything right with setting it up and it shows some positive results. Either way, it’s definitely going to be a learning experience…hehe.

    Like

Comments are closed.