Parallax: Genesis/Lights and Shadows: The Writing never stops.

Writing diligently on one story is effort enough, but when you take on two at the same time, a new set of challenges come into play. Unless the two stories take place in the same story universe, you have to make sure to keep their details separate from each other in order to avoid confusion later. Here are a few things to consider when slugging it out with multiple projects. This is not a complete list, by any means:

1) Different Story Universes, Different Resources.

Every story has its own needs so it’s best to keep Story A’s stuff separate from Story B’s. Records, story notes, etc, should be in its own file so that you don’t mix the two and have your 21st Century Accountant doing The Dragon’s taxes, though that would be amusing on its own…hehe.

2) Different Schedules.

This one can be done in a million different ways. You can set up certain days to work on each story or whatever. The more distance you can conceivably put between projects, the more focus you can exert on each. Unlimited ways to go.

3) Backups, Backups, Backups.

It goes without saying that backups are important. Save early, save often and keep the backups in a safe place just in case.

4) Take breaks.

You don’t work in a sweatshop so don’t put yourself under any undue stress. If you have a deadline to meet, structure your time accordingly. If not, then set a reasonable goal and meet it. However, your health and sanity are important for creativity so don’t neglect yourself.

Anyway, that’s enough of that.

A few updates on Lights and Shadows and Parallax: Genesis:

Lights and Shadows:

I’ve just about finished Lights and Shadows, Chapter 11, barring the usual distractions. It’s funny how a story that is completely outlined and planned out would present so many issues. Maybe I’m subconsciously rebelling against all the structuring, I have no idea. In any case, I’m forging ahead and it’s gratifying to see the story take shape as I go. I may not make the April 30th goal I set so if I don’t, then it will get pushed back to the end of May. In any case, it will be finished as soon as possible.

Parallax: Genesis:

P:G is still in the planning stages but I have the Initial Concept and The Preliminary Synopsis written. The Timeline and Characters are carry over from Parallax, so that’s a time saver in itself. There’s a small matter of sketching out the story settings and doing the working Plot Outline, but that’s nuts and bolts stuff which shouldn’t take so long. After I get the Plot Outline finished, then it’s actually writing the story. My goal is to get it finished and published by the end of December, but it’s more realistic to say that it will be done as soon as possible.

That’s it for today (I think). Obviously, I will keep you all informed as events unfold. Have a great day.

7 thoughts on “Parallax: Genesis/Lights and Shadows: The Writing never stops.

  1. I’m full of admiration that you can keep two stories going at the same time. When I tried to imagine what it must be like, I initially kept thinking of the negatives. Now I’m wondering if it might actually be more productive. They say a change is as good as a rest. Perhaps fewer breaks might be necessary overall because the writer can keep his or her brain working, but simply change its focus.

    I realize I’m probably being naive.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very interested in seeing how working on multiple novels goes for you! I’m actually going to be in the exact same boat in May, where I’ll be simultaneously finishing the first draft of a book while outlining the sequel to Paradisa. It sounds doable, particularly because they’re different tasks entirely. Just wait till we actually start writing two different books at the same time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, it’s definitely a juggling act, but I’m making do. I decided to double-team because I want to finish L&S and get P:G going. Those are my two main projects for the year although I am hoping to shoehorn Parallax: Darkfall in there somewhere so I can finish out the Trilogy.

      Like

Comments are closed.