If I’m not Careful

This is not intended to be a motivational article. In fact, none of what I put up on the blog is supposed to motivate, inspire, or otherwise. It’s just me with a topic, a little piss and vinegar, and the will to put it all out there.

Truth to tell, my innate introverted tendencies have gotten the better of me lately and when that happens, I tend to pull inside and percolate for a while. Unfortunately, Time tends to slip away from important projects and when I come out of my self-imposed isolation, I have to scramble to make up that lost time.

Introverted by nature, extroverted by necessity. I know that probably reads a little strange, but that’s the nuts and bolts of my existence. I love people, but I also love to be by myself and when I don’t pace myself, I get overwhelmed by this life. I’m also a creature of varying extremes, but that’s a topic for another day. 😉

I’ve been racking my brain for the past few days over Lights and Shadows and where it’s going. This is nothing new. I went through the same thing with Parallax, Corona, The Three Safeties, and Vessel, before I got them finished. It’s not that the writing is hard. In fact, writing the stories is often the easiest part of the process. Losing focus in the middle of a project is often the hardest thing I deal with on a daily basis, but I power through or take a break to play a game or some other diversion. However, I have to be mindful of the time I use up when not writing. Yes, there’s more to Life than writing, but rarely are those things as enjoyable or as satisfying.

This article got kind of depressing, huh? Oh well, I’ll try harder next time. Thanks for your time. 🙂

15 thoughts on “If I’m not Careful

  1. I basically live the “introverted by nature, extroverted by necessity.” If I could be an agoraphobic cat lady who never leaves the house or talks to people, that would be alright with me. But logically, I know I’d be missing out on a lot of life if I did that. There’s more to life than writing, even if it’s our deepest urge. Kind of like there’s more to life than eating cake or vegging out to Netflix. No one should spend 100% of their time doing only one thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. not strange at all, I’m the same about my introversion…introvertedness… whichever. I have 3 big projects I need to work on instead of writing my own piss and vinegar on WordPress, but I do want to encourage you to get it out! And I feel myself sliding over the edge although today started on a high note. To spite everyone, and everything, I hope we have a great and productive weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with you, buddy! I love being by myself, too. For introverts, alone time is re-energizing. For extroverts, the opposite is true, they need people to feel at their best. It’s not depressing, it just is. Winter is blech, too for not feeling social. Personally, I just want to hibernate.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.