Running At Half Speed

Work on Lights and Shadows has slowed to a crawl since the new year started and while I will never stop until it is finished, I will admit that scheduling Books 2 and 3 of the Parallax Trilogy has been difficult.

I am loathe to say that I am burned out on Writing. Saying that would be like saying I’m burned out on breathing so we won’t go there. Unfortunately, the brilliant ideas that are dancing around in my head don’t seem to be making their way down to my fingertips and to The Page.

So, I’m plodding along at half-speed, dropping exposition and dialog the best I can to keep the story moving along in hopes to resuming the momentum while chomping on sinus medication washed down by my favorite caffeinated beverages. Hey, it’s not all bright lights and champagne.

The book won’t write itself. So, I let another cigarette burn itself out in the ashtray while I stare at the Scrivener Screen and fight for inspiration. If Muses exist, they’re not hanging around me and my laptop. Oh well, screw em…hehe.

I’m not depressed by any means. It’s more like a Blah type of malaise has set in. Of course, I could resort to the “Bombs and Boobs” Method of firing the boiler but when you already have your main characters in a precarious position, it’s best not to go down a path where you might have to kill them or destroy the setting around them. Not that I love them THAT much. 😉

Anyway, that’s my article for today. Thanks for your time. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Running At Half Speed

  1. Whenever your story starts to drag, they say you should introduce a guy with a gun or a dragon 😛 Maybe not quite the same as the boobs and bombs method, but similar in execution, lol. And who knows, maybe you can cut out the dragon later ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.