Live Your Example

I’ve never seen myself as any sort of inspirational example to others. After all, I’ve made my share of mistakes, pulled my share of blunders and at times, royally screwed myself over during times where it should have been smooth sailing. I freely admit that.

But you know, that’s Life, and no matter how many books you read or how many pieces of advice you may receive, in the end the learning tends to be the hard way. I’m not saying that there aren’t times where a problem is avoided by recognizing that it’s coming and taking steps to avoid it.

We’re often stubborn monkeys, we Humans, but we have an incredible capacity for adapting and changing. Speaking for one particular primate, I tend to follow a basic Leadership Tenet that I learned in The Navy which is to “Lead by Example”. Leading by Example is living the qualities that you most wish to have those who follow you to emulate. Like it or not, people watch what we do.

I prefer to build people up instead of tearing them down. There’s enough strife and discord in the World already without adding to the pile.

What does this have to do with Writing? Not a whole lot, but I suppose you could tack it on to Character Development (both fictional and real), or merely the ramblings of someone who is bogged down in a dark story plot and needs to occasionally stick their head up and interact with the Real World.

Either way, thanks for your time. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Live Your Example

  1. If people like you, they will want to see you succeed – and the other way around. Which is exactly why Corona is in my Kindle library right now 🙂 Because I think you’re pretty cool and therefore I care about what you write. I agree that building people up is a much better use of energy than tearing them down.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have my rampaging moments when the world is full of morons and I let loose with every profanity known and a few that haven’t been invented yet. I try to keep that to my blog, where it’s safe to vent. No one deserves that head-on. And you’re right; lead by example. If you want support and understanding in your life, you’ve got to be willing to give them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, we’re often outnumbered so a few choice words here and there isn’t unforgivable…hehe. I believe that you generally get back from The Universe what you put out there. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.