Recapturing a Moment in Time, Part 2

It never ceases to surprise me when something from my past comes back to bite me in the butt…

I’m referring, of course, to my manuscript currently being housed in the Library of Congress. In the last article “Recapturing a Moment in Time”, I talked about the significance of this particular piece and why getting it back is so important to me.

Truth is that my current situation could have been avoided had I exercised a little more due diligence in safely storing backup copies. Hindsight is always 20/20 and boy did my hind end ever lose sight of this one. Now, I am about to pay for a very expensive lesson to get a copy back from the US Copyright Office. I think they better explained it here:

LOC Email 2

I guess that says it all, huh? Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a request for help or anything. It’s merely a representative example of what happens when not paying attention comes back to haunt you later. I mean, I’ll get it worked out, but damn if it didn’t take 25 years for the lesson to sink in. Also, apparently you CAN put a price on a memory…hehe.

Thanks for your time and remember to keep a close watch on those backups. 😉

