Promoting My Books

Allow me to be the first one to say that I am a Publicist’s Nightmare.

I often post things on social media that tend to occasionally raise eyebrows, involve spew warnings, and very rarely involve promoting my books.

Yes, I currently have four books on Amazon in both Print and Kindle Versions:

Corona

The Three Safeties

Vessel

Parallax

That’s usually the extent of how I put the word out and I’m basically fine with that. The Truth that I’ve found is that there are tons of people out there who engage in relentless campaigns to push their books and I can understand why. They spend exorbitant sums of money on “professional” editors, cover designers, book trailer producers, etc and they want to recoup some of their investment with book sales. I don’t have a problem with that.

When I am on social media, blogging, and whatnot, I am only promoting one thing: Me. I am the Brand, Platform, Product, whatever you want to call it. I’m a guy with a lot of ideas, a slightly twisted sense of humor, and a passionate love of words and wordplay. I don’t have the kind of money (yet) to invest in flashy book covers and promotions so I do the next best thing. I make friends. I share ideas, thoughts, and jokes to get people to recognize me and by extension, the work that I’m putting out there. My books aren’t the prettiest girls at the dance, but they’ll get the job done and in the end, isn’t that the point?

I’m a Writer, not a Salesman. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Promoting My Books

  1. I think if I was a self-published author, I would definitely take the approach of mass promotion (although blowing up Twitter is the laziest and most ineffective way to do it IMO. There are definitely annoying ways to promote, and then there are sensible ways.) But that’s because I would want to make a full time job out of this, so I would have to take the most “pro” approach possible. However, we all have to do what works for us, and I think your method of being “a really interesting guy who happens to have books for sale” is a cool method too. John Hartness told me “people buy stuff from people they like” and truer words have never been spoken.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.