Picking Up The Slack

I write on a schedule. Now, that might ruffle a few feathers on the more casual crowd, and justifiably so, but I find that putting myself in the Writing Habit forces me to create.

The Title of this article is Picking Up The Slack and it refers to those times when you take a day off from Writing to do other things, like yesterday when I spent most of the day playing an old computer game favorite, Red Alert 2. While I had a great time building bases and armies to crush my AI opponents, I couldn’t help but think that I had a new novel pending and should be working on it. This is the “Slack” Part.

The “Picking Up” Part came into play later as I realized that I have no overseer to crack a whip and make me write. I also have no one else to do the writing for me. I either do it and make up for the time spent elsewhere or find a way to adjust my schedule to accommodate and deal with the consequences of missing a deadline. I use self-imposed deadlines to keep me on track. If the deadlines were externally imposed, that would be a different situation and a completely different conversation.

Unfortunately, when I take time away from Writing, I’m taking it away from ALL Writing. Stories, Blog, the whole Kittin Shaboodle and there’s nothing inherently wrong with that. Breaks are good things and doing anything, even that which you love, can drive you nuts after a while. The point here is to realize that a commitment doesn’t go away just because you feel like not honoring it.

Take all the breaks you want, but remember that it’s waiting for you when you get back.

8 thoughts on “Picking Up The Slack

  1. Hmmm….I went from an intense schedule of writing between my 2blogs and book and writing to several prison inmates that requires long letter writing. Then early September I had a health set back that has me curled up in a fetal position on my bed trying to keep up with it a little bit so I didn’t disappear off the radar. It’s been hard to write using my tablet and being fatigued and nauseaus all the time. I had to stop with the guilt feelings or thinking I should find a way to suck it up and be Wonder Woman. There is a reason for everything. This too shall pass.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.