The Ending

As you all know, I’ve been dropping little hints here and there that Parallax is down to the last few scenes. As I go into the last push, I find myself feeling a little sad that something I have worked on for so long is coming to an end.

Of course, this isn’t the end of the entire saga with John Pratt and the Parallax Universe. Quite the contrary, as this is merely the end of one segment.

Why do I feel sad?

I don’t know about you, but when I am working on a story, I become rather obsessive about it. A vague idea comes to life and turns into a full-blown world complete with characters that we love and hate, places we want to camp out in for a while, and events that we long to be a part. It’s part escape, part vacation, part playing hooky from lives that can be rather mundane by comparison.

I would liken the feeling to those moments leading up to a break-up, when you know it’s inevitable, but you have to move on. Hanging on to that special feeling when you know it has to end. The longing for the earlier times when your emotions and energy levels are intertwined and your creativity is firing on all cylinders and Life is just grand.

But….

Every story has a beginning, a middle, and an end. So, when you are sitting at your journal or laptop writing those last few words that bring your story to a satisfying conclusion, remember not that your story is ending, but rather that another is about to begin.

I’m very much on track to release Parallax to Amazon and Createspace on September 30, 2015 and then probably take some time away from novels to bang out some short stories or whatever (yeah, right) before working on the sequel. Taking this novel to a satisfactory ending is something I’ve wanted for the past year.

5 thoughts on “The Ending

Comments are closed.