Project Hangover

I know you read the title and probably thought “Hey, is he doing something with Alcohol?”

No, no drinking anything with alcohol in it while writing. I tried that once and all it ended up doing was making my typing worse and causing me to eventually fall out of my chair.

Today, I want to talk to you about something I call “Project Hangover”. This is a situation that comes about near or at the end of a writing project and generally involves the discharge of all that energy that is spent getting the story written to the point where the battery is essentially depleted down to its seed current and in dire need of recharging.

Parallax is a project that is near and dear to my heart because it’s the first full-length novel story that I have worked on in a very long time. Writing novels is a marathon. You have to ration the energy that you put into them and over time, that energy goes from your mind to The Page. Eventually, you will find yourself straining to keep a high-energy state going to reach the final scene.

Now, some might say to take a break to get some perspective, recharge the batteries and then jump back in fresh. I will remind that in Physics, an object in motion tends to stay in motion. Being creative is no different and though there may be some weeping and gnashing of teeth involved, it’s a good thing because it forces you to dig deeper into your soul and find those untapped resources inside you that can be brought to bear.

So, while you may have the urge to spaz out a little and shout to the Heavens that you can’t continue, don’t give up because your best work is ahead of you. Remember why you started writing in the first place.

If that doesn’t work, try some strong coffee. 😉

2 thoughts on “Project Hangover

Comments are closed.