Practical Writing?

I’m sure there are more than a few out there who are reading today’s articles and wondering what the heck Practical Writing means. This article will attempt to explain what I mean by it and more importantly, what it means to you.

Practical Writing in the context of today’s theme is all the elements that exist outside the creative process. In other words, everything that doesn’t end up in a story.

Writing is a skill set that involves a wide spectrum of abilities and an equally wide assortment of hats to wear. Unless we are fortunate to have secured a traditional publisher early on with an in-house staff, we as Writers fill a large variety of roles. We are part artist, accountant, personal assistant, travel agent, researcher, editor, and typesetter. We also have to be our own motivational speakers, life coaches, and our own boot to the butt that forces us to stop procrastinating and get to work.

I may slip some creative writing tips in with my articles today, but I wouldn’t count on them. I love to discuss Writing, but I feel that the creative side is incomplete without the nuts of bolts of maintaining the infrastructure that allow for the creation process.

Finally, I don’t get paid to do this and probably will never do so because I feel it’s part of my responsibility to impart what I have learned to those who may not be as far along as I am. Don’t get me wrong, goods and services cost money but this is my way to give back and it’s good writing practice for me to be able to whip up this stuff on the fly like I do.

More articles coming today so until then, have a great day and remember that there is no such thing as a bad story. Only stories that need some editing and rewriting.

