Insight: Book Reviews, Networking, and Freebies

This article is going to deal with the following topics:

1) Book Reviews
2) Networking
3) Freebies

Writing is easy in that you put words on the paper, tie them together, and have them make sense. However, when we deal with publishing, things get a little more complicated because you’re moving beyond simply telling a good story to presenting it in a way where people will want to buy it. The next few sections will offer up some insight from my personal experience that I hope will inspire and guide you all.

1) Book Reviews

Book Reviews are essential in getting both your work and your name out there. Word of Mouth Advertising is a powerful tool and if you can generate a buzz, you can generate both interest and sales. The publishing outlet that I go through, Amazon, has a very good system in place for readers to post reviews of the books they purchase, reviews that get authors noticed and read. Writing a review in that context is extremely informal and the critiques can vary from one sentence descriptions to full blown paragraphs, depending on the poster.
Other types of reviews are more in-depth, and may bear a close resemblance to those wonderful book reports we all did back in our Grade-School and College Days. Those you will generally find on websites and blogs that cater to the readership at large and provide a very useful format for attracting people to your website or online publisher.
In the coming months, I will be devoting my energy and this blog to reviewing books from authors that I am associated with or have purchased books by. Hopefully, there will be some reciprocity involved, but if not, then not. I feel it’s important to help those in the Indie Community who may not have the resources to go a full paid route. It would be my pleasure to do so and I offer this up freely.

2) Networking

Getting the word out can be time consuming, but one of the easiest ways to do this is to communicate with those you wish to interest in your work. Within this context, I will be dealing with online interactions through social media.
There are a lot of social media option out there. There’s Twitter, Facebook, Google+, LinkedIn, and a number of others out there. I’m not saying that you should run out and sign up for every single social media option out there. If you did, you wouldn’t have time to write. Instead, I suggest taking a slow and methodical approach that you have tailored to what you are capable of doing and what you are willing to do. The effort you expend should equal the results you wish to achieve.
Networking equals interacting. There’s no way around that. But, if you are being yourself, that will shine through. In the end, it’s about getting people to like you and want to read what you have to offer. If not, then you’ve made a bunch of new friends and we can all use more friends.

3) Freebies

As the name would suggest, Freebies are those things that are given out free of charge for the purpose of generating both good will and interest in what you have to offer. It can be as frugal or as extravagant as you want. What I am personally doing is writing free exclusive content that visitors to the blog can read and enjoy. My intent is to show newcomers what and how I write with the same quality as I put into my paid stories. The name says it all.

Well, Guys, it’s late as I post this, but there will be more coming. Please feel free to add comments and questions and as always, Ever Forward. 🙂

