Insight: Birthdays

I turned 48 years old today and wow, what a ride so far. As interesting as I think my life has been so far, let’s take a look at other events that have taken place on this date in History. Of course, I’ll make a few comments on each as they are presented. So, without further ado, let’s jump in the Wayback Machine. The references I’m using come from http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history and they are not in any particular order or all-inclusive:

1) 1981: President Reagan was shot by John Hinckley in an apparent attempt to impress his idol, Jodie Foster.

“I don’t have a problem with Jodie Foster by any means, but did this guy really think he had a shot? Anyway, he’s locked away in a mental institution, possibly for the rest of his life, so I hope in his mind that the effort was worth it. How would you like to be reminded of this event every year?”

2) 1775: King George passes The Restraining Acts, a set of laws intended to lock the American Colonies into trading exclusively with Great Britain.

“With every thing else going on that year, we know how well that worked out.”

3) 1820: Anna Sewell, the author of Black Beauty, was born in Norfolk, England. Although a daughter of a successful children’s book writer, she herself was not published until the age of 57.

“I read this book as a kid and it’s pretty cool to share a birthday with someone like this.”

I could go on with the references, but I wanted this article to be more perspective than a shopping list of items taken from History.com. The point here is that we live in a world that contains so many fascinating things in it and as we act, we become more a part of those fascinating things.

Ever Forward, and thanks for all the birthday wishes.

