Insight: Should I Write a Book Series?

(If this sounds familiar, you’re not experiencing deja vu. I did an article some time ago about Standalones vs Series. This is a different take on that theme.)

Like many other writers out there, I have an idea folder that is positively busting at the seams. I have every intention of taking every idea and turning it into a published book, but I’ve noticed a trend that points toward doing a series instead of standalone stories.

Truth be told, I’m a little afraid of committing myself to a series, but to be fair I want to evaluate the Pros and Cons before I make a final decision one way or the other. That being said, let’s break down the particulars:

Pros:

1. One group of characters that will grow in time

2. A consistent story world that doesn’t need to be explained in every book.

3. The ability to show potential publishers that I have what it takes to create a quality and sustainable series.

4. Less time and resources needed to create a new story world and characters.

5. My current idea collections can be converted to serve as future storylines.

Cons:

1. Being locked into one specific genre and story world rules.

2. Potentially spreading myself thin working on one thing.

3. Getting pigeon-holed as “that” author.

4. Fearing that my reach may be exceeding my grasp. (Hey, it can happen, even to someone like me…hehe.)

Truth be told, I like to spread my creative wings and tackle a wide range of subjects and genres, but I also like the idea of digging deep into one particular subject and riding it as far as it will take me. I suppose the only true test is to jump in and have at it. I’ve never shied away from a challenge before.

Ever Forward.

