Insight: Crowdfunding

NOTE: This is a repost due to some technical issues.

As most of you know by now, I recently tried crowdfunding in order to raise funds to boost my ability to better promote my writing by improving my housing and transportation situation.

Well, it didn’t go as well as I would have hoped, so I cancelled my campaign after about two weeks. No harm, no foul.

Although nothing came of it, I did find the experience valuable in that it taught me that there is more to fundraising than simply going out over the Internet and asking for money. It takes a large social network, increased time in lobbying for donations, and more than a little patience.

I’m a writer, not a salesman. I prefer to write my stories and put the word out that they are published and ready to be read. I don’t have it in me to pound people over the head with endless entreaties to look at me and my work. It’s not much fun and I don’t think the majority of people out there enjoy seeing that sort of thing.

If crowdfunding works for you, terrific. Me? I’ll just keep doing what I’ve been doing and live in the knowledge that I’m doing what’s right for me.

